Five UCSB Political Scientists Win Awards at APSA

UCSB’s Political Science Department is proud to announce that five faculty members were honored at the American Political Science Association’s (APSA) 2017 annual convening.


PROFESSOR PEI-TE LIEN received the 2017 Distinguished Career Book Award from the Race, Ethnicity, and Politics section of APSA for her co-authored work:  "Contested Transformation: Race, Gender, and Political Leadership in 21st Century America" (Cambridge University Press, 2016).  Section co-Presidents Kerry Haynie of Duke University and Jane Junn of USC said: “The book makes an outstanding contribution to knowledge in political science on the intersectional dynamics of power and political representation in the United States. It is a path-breaking work that will benefit scholars and policy-makers for many years to come.”

Dr. Lien is Professor of Political Science and holds an affiliated appointment with the Departments of Asian American Studies and Feminist Studies at UCSB. She co-authored the award-winning book with Carol Hardy-Fanta (University of Massachusetts, Boston), Dianne Pinderhughes (University of Notre Dame), and Christine Marie Sierra (University of New Mexico).

APSA’s Presidents and Executive Politics (PEP) section awarded PROFESSOR  JOHN WOOLLEY and DR. GERHARD PETERS (Citrus College, UCSB PhD) the 2017 Richard E. Neustadt Award for the best reference work on the presidency and executive politics in the previous calendar year.  The award was made for the American Presidency Project (APP), the definitive digital archive of historical and contemporary documents, audio recordings, and video about the US Presidency. Woolley and Peters launched the web site nearly 20 years ago and under their co-direction it has become a standard source for scholars, journalists, and the public. Dr. Woolley is Professor of Political Science and past chair of the Department of Political Science.







Other awardees include the Political Science department’s own PROFESSOR NEIL NARANG, who received a best-paper award from the APSA Conflict Processes section for his paper with Jessica Stanton entitled "A Strategic Logic of Attacking Aid Workers: Evidence from Violence in Afghanistan, 2008-2012." Neil Narang is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science. In 2015-2016, he served as a Senior Advisor in the Office of the Secretary of Defense for Policy on a Council on Foreign Relations International Affairs Fellow. His research primarily focuses on international security, conflict management and peacebuilding, and the relationship between international institutions and conflict. He is the editor of the book Nuclear Posture and Nonproliferation Policy: Causes and Consequences for the Spread of Nuclear Weapons, and his articles have appeared in the Journal of Politics, International Studies Quarterly, Journal of Conflict Resolution among others.



PROFESSOR ALISON BRYSK, our affiliate in Global and International Studies, received the Distinguished Scholar in Human Rights Award from the Human Rights section. Professor Brysk is the Mellichamp Professor of Global Governance in the Global and International Studies Program. She has authored or edited 10 books on international human rights. She teaches graduate and undergraduate courses on human rights, international relations, civil society, and Latin American politics. In 2013-2014, Brysk was a Fellow at the Woodrow Wilson Center in Washington, D.C.



The fifth honored Political Scientist, is PROFESSOR MARK BUNTAINE, our affiliate in the Bren School of Environmental Studies, who received the Don K. Price Award from the Science, Technology & Environmental Politics section, for his book Giving Aid Effectively: The Politics of Environmental Performance and Selectivity at Multilateral Development Banks. Mark Buntaine's research investigates the sources of effective environmental policy in developing countries, with an emphasis on the targeting and impact of foreign aid. Buntaine leads a range of international projects that deal with the allocation practices of aid donors, the participation of citizens in environmental policy-making, the relationship between public and private financing of environmental technologies, the processes that lead to effective government reform, and the evaluation of environmental projects, among other interests.