Welcome to the Department of Political Science

For more than half a century, the Department of Political Science at UC Santa Barbara has been home to top scholars engaged in cutting edge research. The Department prides itself on first-rate teaching at the undergraduate and graduate levels. 

Read More


  • Headshot of Associate Professor David Wiens

David Wiens will talk about "Ideal Theories in Political Science: Lessons from Game Theory and Statistics"

  1. May 25, 2018 - 12:30pm
  • Headshot of Guillem Rico

"Commonalities and Differences", as presented by Guillem Rico

  1. June 1, 2018 - 12:30pm

News and Announcements

  • Now Accepting Applications for Temporary Lecturers

The department invites applications for a pool of qualified temporary Lecturers to teach courses in Political Science. Anticipated positions include Summer Session 2018 and possibly into the 2018-19 academic year. 

  • Professors Stokes and Mildenberg giving the thumbs up with other award winners at MPSA

Professor Leah Stokes and Professor Matto Mildenberger received the Patrick J. Fett Award for best paper on the scientific study of Congress and the Presidency.

Support Political Science

We invite you to be part of the Department’s success in educating the next generation of leaders. For more information, please visit our department giving page.